High Cross Primary School - Ysgol Gynradd High Cross
  1. 01633 895472 & 01633 920390
  2. highcross.primary@newportschools.wales

'Together we grow and shine'

'Gyda’n gilydd, rydyn ni’n tyfu a serennu'


The New Curriculum for Wales

A new curriculum guide for children and families - CLICK HERE

A new curriculum in Wales overview - CLICK HERE


The 4 Purposes

The 4 purposes area at the heart of the new curriculum. They are the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support all children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives.
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work.
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world.
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.


The New Curriculum includes:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16.
  • 3 cross curricular responsibilities: Literacy, Numeracy and Digital Competence.
  • Progression Steps at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16, with achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.


The curriculum is organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

Listening to our Learners

We are working with the children to translate these purposes into child-friendly language to help them understand all the ways in which they can develop these attributes in themselves.

Asking questions to help our learners use the four purposes to reflect on their day:

  • Which lessons have helped you develop being healthy?
  • What have you learned this term that has helped you be more ambitious?
  • Which purpose do you think you are developing really well?
  • How can you be more creative in your topic learning?
  • Name one thing you did in class today that made you more informed about the world around you.

Four Core Purposes of the New Curriculum

Reflect on how many of these you have used and in what contexts.